Home › Video doorbells
Video doorbells: 4 models compared on power, storage and subscriptions
The front of the house is where most break-ins start: official survey figures for England and Wales put it at nearly six in ten. A video doorbell lets you see and speak to whoever is there before you open the door. The real differences between models are power, where the video ends up, and what stops working if you don't pay for a plan.
What to look for
- Check the exact transformer's voltage and the model's wiring requirements before choosing a wired doorbell. [en-uk.ring.com]
- Check whether your existing indoor chime will still ring. The hardwired recording mode on D235 does not support the existing chime. [tp-link.com]
- Separate live viewing from saved recordings. Ring's free functions and paid video history are different. [en-uk.ring.com]
- Check where the memory card sits. D230S1 records to a card in its indoor hub. [tapo.com]
- Compare horizontal, vertical and diagonal viewing angles separately, and check hardware revisions when the maker's figures disagree. [tapo.com]
- Check whether the hub, chime and memory card are included. E340 can work on its own, with optional chime or HomeBase accessories. [uk.eufy.com]
Battery or wired
A battery doorbell can go almost anywhere but needs recharging. A wired one runs from a low-voltage doorbell supply, and the maker states the voltage it needs. If there is no doorbell wiring, or you rent and can't change it, a battery model is often simpler. Some models below can run either way.
Where the video goes, and what a plan buys
Some doorbells keep recordings on the device or on a hub inside your home. Others keep video only in the maker's cloud, so without a paid plan you can watch live but can't play back what you missed. Each model below quotes the maker's own words on this.
4 video doorbells compared
Listed in no particular order. Facts link to the maker's own page or document they came from; prices change, so check before you buy.
Ring Wired Video Doorbell 2K
- Power
- Wired power. [en-uk.ring.com]
- Wiring needs
- The FAQ specifies an 8-24VAC supply and standard doorbell wiring. Ring recommends professional installation. [en-uk.ring.com]
- Resolution
- Retinal 2K. The FAQ specifies 1920 x 1920. [en-uk.ring.com]
- Field of view
- The UK specification states 140 x 140 head-to-toe field of view. [en-uk.ring.com]
- Storage
- Paid cloud video storage; the page states up to 180 days, initially set to 30 days. [en-uk.ring.com]
- Recording without a plan
- No saved video history is included without a plan. Free functions include live viewing, instant notifications and two-way talk. [en-uk.ring.com]
- Chime and hub
- Mechanical chimes are unsupported. Ring offers a separate Chime (3rd Gen) bundle for audible indoor alerts. [en-uk.ring.com]
Paid plan: Free functions include "instant notifications, Live View and Two-Way Talk". Paid: "A Ring Subscription allows you to review, save and share your videos." [en-uk.ring.com]
The maker says it does not: Does not support mechanical doorbell chimes. [en-uk.ring.com]; Saved video review, saving and sharing require a Ring subscription. [en-uk.ring.com]
Ring's UK product page · a UK retailer listing (£59.99 when checked on 7 November)
eufy Video Doorbell E340
- Power
- Removable rechargeable battery, or wiring that keeps the installed battery topped up. [anker.com]
- Wiring needs
- UK product page: battery must remain installed; wired source must be 8-24V and greater than 10VA. The page does not specify AC or DC in that sentence. [anker.com]
- Resolution
- 2K for the visitor camera, with a second downward-facing camera for the doorstep. [anker.com]
- Exact pixel dimensions
- UK maker table: visitor camera 2048 x 1536; second camera 1600 x 1200. [uk.eufy.com]
- Storage
- 8GB of memory in the doorbell; can also pair with HomeBase S380. [uk.eufy.com]
- Recording without a plan
- Event recordings are saved on the doorbell's 8GB built-in memory without monthly fees. [uk.eufy.com]
- Chime and hub
- Works standalone. Optional HomeBase S380 can act as a chime. [uk.eufy.com]
- Other chime options
- UK product page lists existing chimes, HomeBase S280/S380, MiniBase Chime T8023, Alexa and Google Voice Assistant devices. [anker.com]
- Weather rating
- IP65, stated by the maker for E340 on its UK page. [uk.eufy.com]
Paid plan: The maker describes E340 as having "built-in recording with no monthly fees". Exact optional paid-cloud features remain unconfirmed. [uk.eufy.com]
The maker says it does not: Does not support Apple HomeKit. [anker.com]; Does not support 5GHz Wi-Fi; supports 2.4GHz only. [anker.com]; Not compatible with the original eufy Wi-Fi Chime T8020 or Chime T8740/T8742. [anker.com]; The maker's UK article says the doorbell's built-in storage is fixed and cannot be expanded. [uk.eufy.com]
eufy's UK product page · a UK retailer listing (£169.99 when checked on 7 November)
Tapo D235 Video Doorbell Camera
- Power
- 10,000mAh built-in rechargeable battery, hardwire charging or hardwire supply. [tp-link.com]
- Wiring needs
- UK store specifies 8-24V hardwired with a minimum 10VA transformer. AC/DC type is not specified in that store sentence. [uk.store.tapo.com]
- Resolution
- 2K 5MP, 2560 x 1920. [tp-link.com]
- Field of view
- UK product overview: 180 degrees diagonal. Its specification table lists 170.6 degrees horizontal and 140.1 degrees vertical. [tp-link.com]
- Store field-of-view conflict
- The UK store instead labels 170.6 degrees as diagonal, with 140.1 degrees vertical. [uk.store.tapo.com]
- Storage
- microSD card in the camera, up to 512GB, purchased separately; optional Tapo Care cloud. [uk.store.tapo.com]
- Recording without a plan
- Local microSD recording without subscription fees. [uk.store.tapo.com]
- Continuous recording
- The UK product page describes continuous recording when hardwired. [tp-link.com]
- Paid cloud wording
- "Tapo Care Cloud Storage Services (Subscription required)" [tp-link.com]
- Paid notification feature
- Snapshot notifications are listed under Tapo Care Services. [tp-link.com]
- Chime and hub
- Tapo Chime is included. Existing chime use is unsupported in the hardwired continuous-recording mode. [tp-link.com]
- Weather rating in technical specifications
- IP66. [tp-link.com]
- Weather rating in store highlights
- IP65 in highlights; the store's own table says IP66. [uk.store.tapo.com]
Paid plan: Local option: "local microSD card storage (up to 512GB) with no subscription fees". Paid cloud is quoted separately in facts. [uk.store.tapo.com]
Standards stated by the maker: "CE, RCM, R-NZ, FCC, EAC, Triman, UKCA" [tp-link.com]
The maker says it does not: Hardwired continuous-recording mode does not support use of the existing chime. [tp-link.com]; Activity Zones only work with Motion Detection. [tp-link.com]
Tapo's UK product page · a UK retailer listing (shown as sold out on 7 November)
Tapo D230S1 Battery Video Doorbell with H200 Hub
- Power
- Doorbell: removable rechargeable 6700mAh lithium-ion battery. H200 hub: 9V DC adapter. [tapo.com]
- Wiring needs
- Doorbell power is specified as battery. Hub power adapter and Ethernet cable are included. [tapo.com]
- Resolution
- 2K 5MP, 2560 x 1920. [tapo.com]
- Field of view in overview
- 160 degrees diagonal. [tapo.com]
- Field of view in v1.20 specification
- 166 degrees diagonal, 135 degrees horizontal, 102.8 degrees vertical. [tapo.com]
- Storage
- microSD slot in the H200 hub, up to 512GB; optional Tapo Care cloud. [tapo.com]
- Recording without a plan
- Local recordings use the hub's memory card. The UK maker's card guidance confirms local recording avoids a cloud subscription. [tp-link.com]
- Paid cloud wording
- "Tapo Care Cloud Storage Services (Subscription required)" [tapo.com]
- Paid notification feature
- Notifications with snapshots are listed under Tapo Care Services. [tapo.com]
- Chime and hub
- H200 hub is included; its speaker/siren is listed in the specification. [tapo.com]
- Weather rating
- IP64. [tapo.com]
- UK kit chime
- Argos identifies this kit as including a chime. [argos.co.uk]
Paid plan: The UK maker describes local card recording as "without the cost of a cloud subscription". Paid features are quoted separately in facts. [tp-link.com]
Standards stated by the maker: "CE, RCM, R-NZ, FCC, EAC, Triman, UKCA" [tapo.com]
The maker says it does not: Activity Zones only work with Motion Detection. [tapo.com]
Tapo's UK product page · a UK retailer listing (£79.99 when checked on 7 November)
If it can see past your boundary
GOV.UK's guidance on domestic CCTV says that if your camera captures images of people outside your property, for example a neighbour's home or garden, a shared space or a public footpath, data protection law applies to you and you need to comply with it. Video doorbells usually face the street, so this often applies to them. Angle the camera and use any privacy-zone settings to cover only what you need (GOV.UK: domestic CCTV).
How we put this guide together
- Products were chosen to cover the main choices a UK buyer faces, from models listed on the makers' UK sites or major UK retailers on 7 November 2026.
- Every fact comes from the source linked beside it. Where a maker doesn't publish something, we leave it out rather than guess.
- See how we research and our advertising disclosure.